5MinutesBreak, Micro Fiction, Story, Yeah Write

Bye Bye Love

“Stay!” I pleaded.

“Take care love” he whispered.

Tears drenched my face.

I cradled his face in my bloodied hands.

As I said goodbye to my love of 32 years, his suffering came to an end.

My heart shattered like the broken glass of our car scattered across the highway.

 

This piece was written for the Microprose Challenge #316 at YeahWrite in response to the following prompt: “Give us exactly one way to leave your lover–in exactly fifty words.”

 

Venice

Standard

5 thoughts on “Bye Bye Love

  1. The most terrible way to leave the one you love. The last line was my favourite since it mirrors the breaking of her heart with the shattered glass.

Leave a Reply

