Uncategorized

‘Be’ing Compassionate

It saddens my heart to read about the multiplying attacks, hatred, and negativity in our world today. Forget even those. Closer back home, it is disgusting to watch people have no respect and compassion for one another.

I have seen a young man yell at a differently abled person for getting off the bus slowly. I have witnessed women not giving up their seat for a pregnant woman. I have heard people making snide remarks about someone just because he wasn’t as affluent as them. Among the worst of them is seeing a wife not thanking her husband for saving her in time from the brink of destruction.

It makes me wonder, how hard have our hearts become?

Isn’t there even a pint of soft corner where compassion resides?

It’s not a mammoth task or something, you know – being compassionate.

Pick up a child who has fallen down.

Help an elderly person with their heavy grocery bags.

Offer your seat to pregnant and elderly people.

Listen when someone is telling you something.

Be patient when you’re in a hurry and someone asks you for directions.

Be grateful to those who stick by you no matter what.

How much time and effort would the above take you? Surely not more than a minute. Yet, we have all the time in the world to waste over gossip, television, and games.

We ourselves don’t practice compassion and then wonder why the world is not a kinder place!

Tell me, who makes up this world of ours? You and me, right? So, if you and me are not compassionate, how can you expect the world to be so?

Start now! Be compassionate to those you meet in life. And yes, we humans have a weird tendency to be kinder to strangers than our own folks back home. So, be kind to your family and friends too.

As the saying goes, ‘Be the change you wish to see in the world.’

Be the change. Be Compassionate.

Will you?

Cheers,

Venice 🙂

Compassion-Logo-FINISHED1

I am participating in the 1000speak movement by writing about Compassion. Do join us. Link your posts here. Stay updated by joining ourFacebook group. Read more about the #1000Speak movement and how it began here

Standard

4 thoughts on “‘Be’ing Compassionate

  1. Nice post. I agree on most parts with you.
    Though there’s one thing that I would like to mention. Sometimes things are not always what they seem.
    Like you write “I have witnessed women not giving up their seat for a pregnant woman”. This struck me somehow, because it reminds me of something that happened in my life once, years ago. I’ve been very sick (physically) and it took me a long time to recover. I didn’t look sick, though I was. People couldn’t see anything ‘about my appearance’. What they didnt see was that after every time I was out on the streets, I had to lie down and sleep for hours to recover a bit from that, if it didn’t take a full day to recover. But once I was on the train because I had to go somewhere, it was full, people had to stand, and I almost got in a fight with someone else who was cursing at me that I didn’t stand up for elderly persons. (I think because I was probably close to his location, there were more younger people on that train, but somehow he ‘picked’ me. ) Yeah, I looked young, and somehow I didn;t look sick. But there was no way i could stand that long.Already making that travel, being surrounded by so many people was like a survival trip for me. When this person started swearing while he looked at me, I tried to explain that I was sick, but this person had such a loud voice and already made opinion that I couldn’t even try. I ended up with tears in my eyes. It made me feel like I was a monster. The person next to me noticed this and said to me it was okay and I shouldn’t bother this person and just let it go, but it was no fun I can tell you.
    I wish people had more compassion and understanding for that too , that things aren’t always what they seem and that they sometimes think they know how things are, but it’s not always that way.

    • Hey, I’m sorry that you face such hard times. Some people don’t really stand in another person’s shoes and that’s sad.

      I understand what you said here but if you know Bombay local trains, a single woman’s compartment has seating capacity of around 50 (I may be wrong). Anyway, 4 women sit on a seat meant for 3. There’s mostly around 15 or more women left standing. Out of all these women sitting, not even One gets up for a woman who you can see is pregnant. That’s what is really sad.

  2. It is true that compassion is slowly dwindling amongst human beings but I agree with Sharktoothsweater too that things are not always what they seem to be and we are too quick to judge. But a small act of kindness goes a long way. I will of course assume that you were standing otherwise you would’ve offered her your seat!
    Dropping by from #1000speak

    • Hey Suzy, I too understood the point sharktoothsweater made but here out of around 50 people sitting not one got up.

      Yes, I was standing but I and another lady signaller over to a seated lady near her. Thankfully she got a seat then. I wish though that people were more innately compassionate.

Leave a Reply

